Autumn antics!


We’ve been doing some autumn activities today as Isaac is enjoying watching the leaves fall and collecting conkers etc

We went to the park after preschool and Isaac had great fun stomping through the crunchy leaves, throwing them in the air and peeling conkers from their prickly cases..

Photobucket

Photobucket

 

When we got home, we stuck some autumn coloured tissue to sticky back plastic and then laid more plastic on top and cut it out into a leaf shape to make a nice stained glass window!! Isaac soon gave up placing the pieces on and preferred to simulate leaves falling onto the paper!!

Photobucket

 

Photobucket

 

Photobucket

Later on we made a nature table with all our autumn “swag”! Isaac is really enjoying examining this stuff…

Photobucket

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teachingmybookworms
    Oct 01, 2009 @ 01:20:42

    that is great you have to link up to our tree hugging tots linky!

    Reply

  2. teachingmybookworms
    Oct 02, 2009 @ 13:40:24

    i just love that table! I’m going to feature it next tree hugging tots on tuesday if that is ok?

    can you send me the pics?

    Reply

  3. Debbie
    Oct 07, 2009 @ 00:28:36

    How ironic, I use to love to play with the conkers, or as we call them horse chestnuts. We had a huge horse chestnut tree in our yard when I was growing up, oh how much fun we had.

    Reply

  4. Katie
    Oct 07, 2009 @ 00:57:34

    Hi! I just saw your awesome autumn table on Growing By Leaps and Bounds. I hope you don’t mind but I added a picture of it to a post scheduled for tomorrow on the seasons. I gave a short description, used your picture, direct linked to this post, you blog, and another post that I liked in our post. I made sure to give you credit. If it is not permissible please let me know and I will remove it. Great ideas, I am so glad Shannon shared your project so I could come over and see the rest of what you’ve been up to.

    Reply

  5. Virginia Lee
    Oct 07, 2009 @ 03:41:46

    What a great Fall nature table! Now he can explore all through the season. Plus it’s so nice to have somewhere to put all the nature treasures. If he’s like my son there are LOTS of nature treasures.

    http://rogersfamilycircus.blogspot.com

    Reply

  6. Debbie
    Oct 07, 2009 @ 04:44:41

    I had to google this, and found out why you call them conkers. An explanation of the game of conkers, played with horse chestnuts on strings. … A selection of fresh conkers from a horse- chestnut tree. … So I see that the nuts or seeds from the horse chestnut tree is called a conker, where we just called them horse chestnuts. That was puzzling me all day! lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

